Most Inspiring Woman Dr. Mamoni Raisom Goswami Passes Away

We lost Bhupen Hazarika on 5th November, 2011 and now the Jnanpith awardee Mamoni Raisom Goswami on 29th November, 2011. She took her last breath at 7.46 AM at Gauhati Medical College and Hospital. Death of Mamoni Raisom Goswami is a great lose to Assamese literature which never filled. Her death creates a large vacuum in Assamese literature.

Mamoni Raisom Goswami, an Assamese editor, a professor, a scholar, a writer, a visionary was born in 14th November 1942 in Guwahati in a Brahmin family. Her original name was Indira Goswami and popularly known among Assamese people as Mamoni baideo (elder sister). Her contribution to the Assamese literature is very much. She wrote many poets, novels and short stories also.

When she was a student Kirti Nath Hazarika encouraged and published her first collection of short stories Chinaki Morom in 1962. From then she crossed miles and miles and never stops. Her writings become jewels for Assamese literature. Her works have been performed on stage and in film. The Assamese film Adajya is based on her novel won international awards. She wrote her autobiography Adha Likha Dostabej (An Unfinished Autobiography.

She won many prestigious awards including the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1983 for the novel The Rusted Sword, Assam Sahitya Sabha Award 1988, Bharat Nirman Award 1989, Sauhardya Award from Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthan of Government of India 1992, Katha National Award for Literature 1993, Kamal Kumari Foundation National Award 1996. She was the India's first Principal Prince Claus Laureate in 2008 and India's highest literary award the Jnanpith Award in 2001.

Eminent Assamese director and producer Jahnu Barua directed a film Words from the Mist which was based on her life history.

In later stage she became a pioneer to bring peace and solution to insurgency in Assam through her crucial role in the talks between Government and banned militant ULFA (United Liberation Front of Assam). She will be remembered forever for her unique creative and quality writings. 

Her novels are :

  • Ahiron (1980)
  • Budhasagar, Dhushar Geisa aru Mohammad Mucha (The Budha Sea, Hazy Geishas and Mohammad Mucha)
  • Chinavar Srota (The Chenab's Current) (1972)
  • Chinnamastar Manuhto (The Man from Chinnamasta)
  • Dashorothir Khuj (Dashorothi's Footsteps)
  • Datal Hatir Une Khowa Howda (The Moth Eaten Howdah of a Tusker)
  • Mamore Dhora Tarowal aru Dukhon Uponyas (The Rusted Sword and Two Other Novels) (1980)
  • Nangoth Sohor
  • Budhosagor Dhukhor Geisha Aru Mohammed Musa
  • Nilakanthi Braja (The Blue-Necked Braja) (1976)
  • Ekonshor Dostabej
  • Shadow Of The Dark God (1986)
  • Tej Aru Dhulire Dhusarita Prishtha (Pages Stained With Blood)
  • Udaybhanur Choritro (Udaybhanu) (1986)

Last Journey
Most Inspiring Woman Dr. Mamoni Raisom Goswami Passes Away Most Inspiring Woman Dr. Mamoni Raisom Goswami Passes Away Reviewed by Mani on December 12, 2011 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.